When you mistakenly remove an important document or image, getting it back is your first priority. However, this situation may cause another concern. Will you be able to get your file back with its original location and file name? The answer depends on the amount of file system information on your storage unit.
What happens if you have removed the file?
Deleting a folder or file does not mean an instant removal of content. In most cases, the OS marks the space as available for reuse. The original data of the file remains there until you have overwritten it with new information. But, details, such as the folder location, filename, and other metadata may become unavailable. For this reason, recovering the original organization and restoring the file’s content are not the same thing.
Will you find the original filename after recovering your files?
Recovery applications restore the file’s original name only in a few cases. As the relevant file system’s details remain intact, recovery tools identify them using the same filename. If the metadata with the filename has been overwritten or damaged, the software will restore only the document. It will assign a generic name to your file.
In case the file-system information remains intact, recovery tools will reconstruct much of the structure. So, they will make your recovery process easier. Sort through familiar files and folders with a few clicks. You can use Drecov software to recover deleted files Windows 10 and other devices.
Why do recovered folders/files have random names?
There are different reasons behind finding random names of your files or folders.
Due to the loss of file-system information, the software may not be able to find the original identity of the data. Besides, a corrupted file system prevents the software from reading directory information.
Conclusion
If the relevant file-system information remains intact, you will find your files restored with original names. The restored files will appear as the original ones. Even when the original file name is not restored, you will be able to recover the content.